The Robert U. Ricklefs Scholar Award, named after the school’s founder, is given annually to a member of the junior class whose academic achievement and contributions to school life are exemplary, and who manifests in his or her daily life the values Mr. Ricklefs admired most in people: “determination, responsibility, loyalty, unselfishness, consideration for others, duty, and courage.”  We are pleased to share that this year’s recipient of the Ricklefs Scholar Award is Dana Diniz ’21. 

Each year a selection committee of alumni representing the Alumni Association chooses a member of the junior class to receive the Ricklefs Scholar Award. It is the highest non-academic award a junior can receive. Students are nominated for consideration by vote of their class and by the faculty on the basis of their good academic standing, interest and leadership in the life of the school and/or local community, and involvement in extracurricular activities. The students whose names are found at the top of both lists are considered finalists, and are invited to submit a resume, transcript, and an essay on a topic determined by the selection committee, which then interviews them. This year’s committee was comprised of James Leamey ’89, Kim Ratto ’95, Chrissy Coolidge ’00, Sara Ittelson ’03, and Courtney Slautterback Harwood ’92.

The four most recent winners of this award were Natalie Yaplee ’17, Csilla Smith ’18, Hans Xu ’19, and Izzy Lee ’20. 

Adding to the excitement around this year’s recipient, Dana is the daughter of Germano Diniz, Class of 1988 and chair of the Stevenson math department.

Congratulations to Dana Diniz ’21 for being presented with this year’s Robert U. Ricklefs Scholar Award! And thank you to the alumni  committee for your time and thoughtfulness in making this meaningful selection. 

Enjoy a video of the award presentation at